Record Details

Catalog Search

Search Results Showing Item 1 of 1

Complete poems / John Keats ; edited by Jack Stillinger.

Book Book (1982.)
Description: xxx, 493 p. ; 22 cm.
Publisher: Cambridge, Mass. : Belknap Press of Harvard University Press, 1982.
4 of 4 copies available at NOBLE (All Libraries).
0 current holds with 4 total copies.
Library Location Call Number Status Due Date
Danvers Adult Nonfiction (3rd Floor) PR 4831 S75 1982 (Text to Phone) Available -
Merrimack College Stacks (Lower Level) PR4831 .S75 1982 (Text to Phone) Available -
Merrimack College Stacks (Lower Level) PR4831 .S75 1982 (Text to Phone) Available -
Stoneham Adult Nonfiction Lower Level 821 K22c (Text to Phone) Available -

  • ISBN: 0674154304
  • ISBN: 9780674154308
  • ISBN: 0674154312 (pbk.)
  • ISBN: 9780674154315 (pbk.)
General Note: Reading ed. based on: The poems of John Keats / edited by Jack Stillinger. 1978.
Includes index.
Bibliography, etc.: Bibliography: p. [413]-415.
Contents: Introduction -- Chronology -- Imitation of Spenser -- On Peace -- Lines Written on 29 May, the Anniversary of Charles's Restoration, on Hearing the Bells Ringing -- Stay, ruby breated warbler, stay -- Fill for me a brimming bowl -- As from the darkening gloom a silver dove -- To Lord Byron -- Oh Chatterton! how very sad thy fate -- Written on the Day That Mr. Leigh Hunt Left Prison -- To Hope -- Ode to Apollo -- To Some Ladies -- On Receiving a Curious Shell, and a Copy of Verses, from the Same Ladies -- O come, dearest Emma! the rose is full blown -- Woman! when I behold thee flippant, vain -- O Solitude! if I must with thee dwell -- To George Felton Mathew -- Had I a man's fair form, then might my sighs -- Hadst tho liv'd in days of old -- I am as brisk -- Give me women, wine, and snuff -- Specimen of an Induction to a Poem -- Calidore: A Fragment -- To one who has been long in city pent -- Oh! how I love, on a fair summer's eve -- To a Friend Who Sent Me Some Roses -- Happy is England! I could be content -- To My Brother George (sonnet) -- To My Brother George (epistle)
To Charles Cowden Clarke -- How many bards gild the lapses of time -- On First Looking into Chapman's Homer -- Keen, fitful gusts are whisp'ring here and there -- On Leaving Some Friends at an Early Hour -- To My Brothers -- Addressed to Haydon -- Addressed to the Same -- To G. A. W. -- To Koscuisko -- Sleep and Poetry -- I stoof tip-toe upon a little hill -- Written in Disgust of Vulgar Superstition -- On the Grasshopper and Cricket -- After dark vapours have oppressed our plains -- To a Young Lady Who Sent Me a Laurel Crown -- On Receiving a Laurel Crown from Leigh Hunt -- To the Ladies Who Saw Me Crown'd -- God of the golden bow -- This pleasant tale is like a little copse -- To Leigh Hunt, Esq. -- On Seeing the Elgin Marbles -- To Haydon with a Sonnet Written on seeing the Elgin Marbles -- On a Leander Which Miss Reynolds, My Kind Friend, Gave Me -- On The Story of Rimini
On the Sea -- Unfelt, unheard, unseen -- Hither, hither, love -- You say you love; but with a voice -- Before he went to live with owls and bats -- The Gothic looks solemn -- O grant that like to Peter I -- Think not of it, sweet one, so -- Endymion: A Poetic Reminder -- In drear nighted December -- Apollo to the Graces -- To Mrs. Reynold's Cat -- Lines on Seeing a Lock of Milton's Hair -- On Sitting Down to Read King Lear Once Again -- When I have fears that I may cease to be -- Lines on the Mermaid Tavern -- O blush not so! O blush not so -- Hence burgundy, claret, and port -- God of the meridian -- Robin Hood -- Welcome joy, and welcome sorrow -- Time's sea hath been five years at its slow ebb -- To the Nile -- Spense, a jealous honorer of thine -- Blue! - 'Tis the life of heaven--the domain -- O thou whose face hath felt the winter's wind -- Extracts from an Opera -- Four seasons fill the measure of the year -- For there's Bishop's Teign -- Where by ye going, you Devon maid -- Over the hill and over the dale -- Dear Reynolds, as last night I lay in bed -- To J. R. -- Isabella; or, The Pot of Basil -- Mother of Hermes! and still youthful Maia -- To Homer -- Give me your patience, sister, while I frame -- Sweet, sweet is the greeting of eyes -- On Visiting the Tomb of Burns -- Old Meg she was a gypsy -- There was a naughty boy -- Ah! ken ye what I met the day -- To Ailsa Rock -- This mortal body of a thousand days -- All gentle folks who owe a grudge -- Of late two dainties were before me plac'd -- There is a joy in footing slow across a silent plain
Summary: Here is the first reliable edition of Keats's complete poems designed expressly for general readers and students. Jack Stillinger provides helpful explanatory notes to the poems which give dates of composition, identify quotations and allusions, gloss names and words not included in the ordinary desk dictionary, and refer the reader to the best critical interpretations of the poems. The new introduction provides central facts about Keats's life and career, describes the themes of his best work, and speculates on the causes of his greatness.
Authors: Stillinger, Jack. (Added Author).
Citation: Keats, John. "Complete poems." Cambridge, Mass. : Belknap Press of Harvard University Press, 1982.
Search Results Showing Item 1 of 1

Additional Resources