Record Details

Catalog Search

The little Paris bookshop : a novel / Nina George.

George, Nina, 1973- (author.).
E-audio E-audio (2015.)
Description: 1 online resource (1 sound file) : digital
Publisher: [New York] : Random House Audio, 2015.

Electronic resources

Most resources are available to all onsite at owning library unless resident access is indicated.

Access title from OverDrive

  • ISBN: 9781101889824
  • ISBN: 1101889829
  • Edition: Unabridged.
Participant or Performer:
Read by Steve West, Emma Bering and Cassandra Campbell.
"There are books that are suitable for a million people, others for only a hundred. There are even remedies--I mean books--that were written for one person only...A book is both medic and medicine at once. It makes a diagnosis as well as offering therapy. Putting the right novels to the appropriate ailments: that's how I sell books." Monsieur Perdu calls himself a literary apothecary. From his floating bookstore in a barge on the Seine, he prescribes novels for the hardships of life. Using his intuitive feel for the exact book a reader needs, Perdu mends broken hearts and souls. The only person he can't seem to heal through literature is himself; he's still haunted by heartbreak after his great love disappeared. She left him with only a letter, which he has never opened. After Perdu is finally tempted to read the letter, he hauls anchor and departs on a mission to the south of France, hoping to make peace with his loss and discover the end of the story. Joined by a bestselling but blocked author and a lovelorn Italian chef, Perdu travels along the country's rivers, dispensing his wisdom and his books, showing that the literary world can take the human soul on a journey to heal itself.
Source of Description:
Title details screen (OverDrive; viewed May 7, 2015).
Authors: West, Steve (Actor), (narrator.). Oberon, Elea, (narrator.). Campbell, Cassandra, (narrator.). George, Nina, 1973- (Added Author).
Citation: George, Nina. "The little Paris bookshop : a novel." New York : Random House Audio, 2015.

Additional Resources