The library system will not be available Friday May 25 from 6:00 p.m. to Midnight

Record Details

Catalog Search

Every day is for the thief : fiction / Teju Cole, with photos by the author.

Cole, Teju, (author.).
Book Book (2014.)
Description: 162 pages : illustrations ; 22 cm
Publisher: New York : Random House, 2014.
7 of 7 copies available at NOBLE (All Libraries). (Show all copies)
0 of 0 copies available at Middlesex Community College.
0 current holds with 7 total copies.
  • ISBN: 0812995783 (hardcover) :
  • ISBN: 9780812995787 (hardcover) :
  • Edition: First U.S. Edition.
General Note: "Originally published in Nigeria by Cassava Republic Press, in 2007"--T.p. verso.
Summary: A young Nigerian living in New York City goes home to Lagos for a short visit, finding a city both familiar and strange. Visiting Lagos after many years away, the story's unnamed narrator rediscovers his hometown as both a foreigner and a local. A young writer uncertain of what he wants to say, the man moves through tableaus of life in one of the most dynamic cities in the world, hoping to find inspiration for his own. He hears the muezzin's call to prayer in the early morning light, and listens to John Coltrane during the late afternoon heat. He witnesses teenagers diligently perpetrating e-mail frauds from internet cafes, longs after a woman reading Michael Ondaatje on a public bus, and visits the impoverished National Museum. Along the way, he reconnects with old school friends and his family, who force him to ask himself profound questions of personal and national history. Over long, wandering days, the narrator compares present-day Lagos to the Lagos of his memory, and in doing so reveals changes that have taken place in the country and in himself. Just as Open City uses New York to reveal layers of the narrator's soul, here the complex, beautiful, generous, and corrupt city of Lagos exposes truths about our protagonist, and ourselves. -- Provided by publisher.
Citation: Cole, Teju. "Every day is for the thief : fiction." New York : Random House, 2014.

Additional Resources