Record Details

Catalog Search

Edgar Allan Poe : a collection of stories.

Book Book (1992.)
Description: 236 p. ; 18 cm.
Publisher: New York : TOR, 1992.
1 of 1 copy available at NOBLE (All Libraries). (Show all copies)
1 of 1 copy available at Salem.
0 current holds with 1 total copy.
Library Location Call Number Status Due Date
Salem Adult Paperbacks PB - CLASSICS (Text to Phone) Available -

  • ISBN: 0812504550 (pbk.)
  • ISBN: 9780812504552 (pbk.)
General Note: "A Tom Doherty Associates, Inc. Book."
"TOR classic"--Spine.
Contents: Metzengerstein -- MS. found in a bottle -- Ligeia -- The fall of the house of Usher -- The murders in the Rue Morgue -- A descent into the maelström -- Never bet the devil your head -- The oval portrait -- The masque of the red death -- The pit and the pendulum -- The tell-tale heart -- The black cat -- The premature burial -- The purloined letter -- The sphinx -- The cask of Amontillado -- Hop-frog: or, the eight chained ourang-outangs.
Summary: Hold your breath as a prisoner lies helpless in the dark, with cutting death swinging over him. Experience the creeping dread of a man whose betrayal leads to shocking murder--and an unlikely tomb. Feel your heart pound as a killer is tormented by his victim's tell-tale vengeance. These tales of the macabre introduce a darker side of human nature.
Citation: Poe, Edgar Allan. "Edgar Allan Poe : a collection of stories." New York : TOR, 1992.
The Life Edgar Allan Poe
"MS. Found in a Bottle"
"The Fall of the House of Usher"
"The Murders in the Rue Morgue"
"A Descent into the Maelstrom"
"Never Bet the Devil Your Head"
"The Oval Portrait"
"The Masque of the Red Death"
"The Pit and the Pendulum"
"The Tell-Tale Heart"
"The Black Cat"
"The Premature Burial"
"The Purloined Letter"
"The Sphinx"
"The Cask of Amontillado"
"Hop Frog: or, The Eight Chained Ourang-Outangs"

Additional Resources