Record Details

Catalog Search

The 400 blows [videorecording] / dorected by François Truffaut ; dialogue by Marcel Moussey.

  • ISBN: 1559409738
  • Description: 1 videodisc (99 min.) : sd., b&w ; 4 3/4 in.
  • Edition: Widescreen format.
  • Publisher: [New York, NY?] : Criterion Collection, 2006, 1959.

Available copies

  • 5 of 5 copies available at NOBLE (All Libraries). (Show all copies)
  • 1 of 1 copy available at Merrimack College.

Current holds

0 current holds with 5 total copies.

Library Location Call Number Status Due Date
Merrimack College World Language DVD (2nd) [World Language] PN1997 .Q38 2006 (DVD) (Text to Phone) Available -

Content descriptions

General Note: Title and credits from insert.
Originally released as a motion picture in 1959.
Includes special features.
Creation/Production Credits Note: Cinematography, Henri Decaë; editor, Marie-Josèphe Yoyotte ... [et al.]; music, Jean Constantin.
Participant or Performer Note: Jean-Pierre Léaud, Claire Maurier, Albert Rémy, Guy Decomble, Georges Flamant, Patrick Auffay.
Summary: The semi-autobiographical story of fourteen-year-old Antoine Doinel, portraying his aloof parents, oppressive teachers, petty crime, and a friendship that would last a lifetime. Also includes the short film, Antoine and Colette, which originally appeared as part of the film L'amour à vingt ans, picking up Antoine's story a few years later, when he is living on his own and pursuing his first love affair, initiating a lifelong career of quixotic dreams and amorous restlessness.
System Details Note: DVD; Dolby digital mono.; region 1.
Language Note: In French with optional English subtitles.
Léaud, Jean-Pierre, 1944- (Added Author). Maurier, Claire. (Added Author). Rémy, Albert, 1911-1967 (Added Author). Truffaut, François. (Added Author). Moussy, Marcel, 1924- (Added Author). Constantin, Jean. (Added Author).

Additional Titles

Alternate Title: Quatre cents coups
400 coups
Title on container: François Truffaut's The 400 blows


"The 400 blows," [New York, NY?] : Criterion Collection, 2006, 1959.

Additional Resources